Deb's Morning Pages

My Writing Life. One Morning at a Time.

Digging Out and Digging In

2 Comments

A record has been set (it had to have been) we received approximately 27 inches of snow in town. Wow. That’s a whole lot of snow. I woke this morning to a heavy snow fall that lasted until late morning, thankfully the storm moved across the state. So that meant it was time to dig out. But this time around (this is storm three since Christmas) we got to use our brand-spanking new snowblower, which I call Little Red. I love this machine. She may be small but she’s mighty and now we have a cleared driveway and walkway around our house.

I thought I’d share some pictures I took this morning outside our house. (Be kind, I’m not the photographer in the family.)

My husband said he hadn’t seen snow like this since he was a kid. I’ve never seen snow like this. Growing up in NYC, I don’t recall this much snow. All I can say is that I’m so thankful for Little Red, bless her little motor.

After we dug out, it was time to dig into my new WIP. I still needed to wrap up my Character assignment for my class. Answering 40 questions about my sleuth felt daunting at the beginning, I mean I barely know her. I just had a vague idea of who she was, her background and what she looked like. Pretty much what I’d have when I started a project. Bad writer, bad writer.

Since the course material isn’t mine, I will not share all of the questions I had to answer but I’ll share a few.

What unique personality traits make her a good sleuth, with special skills, instincts or insights others might not have.
Is your character’s name distinct and memorable?
What at the core of your main character that touches you emotionally?
Have you chosen a main setting that helps reveal and define your character?

Some of the questions were easy. Like her name. You bet it’s short, distinct and memorable. Other questions required me to think for a bit before I could answer. Creating a main character, in my case one I hope will be featured in a series, is challenging. She needs to be likable, she needs to be smart, she needs to grow and she needs to have a damn good reason for getting involved in a murder – over and over again.

I admit I’m itching to begin writing, to dig into the plot but I know these steps to creating multi-dimensional characters are crucial to the success of my story. Now I have to work on the murderer, the victim and the rest of the cast.

If you’re stuck home today because of the snow, enjoy!

100×100 update: Day 8, 174 words (finished my character sheet)

TTYL,
Debra

Author: Debra

Writer

2 thoughts on “Digging Out and Digging In

  1. I can’t imagine that much snow. I’m in New Zealand and we’re currently suffering through high temperatures. It rained last night, though, which has cooled things down a lot!

  2. Hi Shelley,

    I know. We normally don’t see this much snow in this part of Connecticut. I’m amazed and there’s more in the forecast for the end of this weekend. I’m ready for spring.

    Thanks for visiting. And, how’s that pup doing?

    Debra

Leave a Reply

