Deb's Morning Pages

My Writing Life. One Morning at a Time.

A Writer’s Toolbox

Leave a comment

null

Like any other professional, a writer needs a few tools she can rely on to get the job done. While we share the basics – computer, pens, notebooks – I think we all have a few specialty tools that we utilize.

Some of my specialty tools:

Online thesaurus. It’s fast to access and easy to use. Luv it!

Online writer loops. I frequent Crimescenewriter. They are a wealth of info on all things criminal.

A blog I frequent is The Writer’s Forensic blog

I use music. Music inspires me sometimes. I never know when inspiration will hit, so it’s hit or miss. I think my muse likes to get-down. 🙂

News. Real life can spark an idea for a character or an entire story. Local news, evening news, either on t.v. or online. It’s a great tool for writers.

I guess I like to keep my toolbox lean and efficient. So what about you? What tools do you rely on the get the job done?

Now, I’d like to take a moment and say one word. SNOW. It happened again. We got at least 10 inches. And there’s talk of another storm in a few days and they’re using that four letter word to describe it – FOOT. Another foot of snow??? The ground hog will never be able to make his way up his hole if this continues.

Okay, I’m done ranting. Now for some pictures from earlier today.

I finally got a picture of our resident woodpecker in the snow, though not a great picture.

After snow removal I took the dogs outside. Susie loves the snow while Billy doesn’t really care for it. So, Susie was a little challenging to photograph since she just wanted to dive into the white stuff. Turns out our goals conflicted. 🙂

Case in point. She was looking at me for a moment then her attention drifted back to the snow.

Susie eating snow.

Here she is after she gets her face out of the snow.

I heard on the news that there is about 51 days to spring. 51 days. I guess it’s something to hold onto. And until then, when all the snow is moved we can shift our focus to writing. I may not know much about my story right now, but I can tell you that it’s not set in the cold, snowy weather. It’s nice and warm where my sleuth is. Yes, I am a little bit jealous of her.

TTYL,
Debra

Author: Debra

Writer

Leave a Reply

