Deb's Morning Pages

My Writing Life. One Morning at a Time.

Believe

10 Comments

Writing is solitary. Writing is hard. Writing is revising. Writing is crazy.

So what sustains us through revisions, rejections and so-so reviews?

Belief in ourselves. Belief in our work.

In order for a writer to write day after day she/he must believe there is nothing else they are meant to do.

To believe is to fill a blank page with words, with breath, with love, with imagination.

To believe is to dream the wildest dreams and to see them play out on the page.

To believe is to hear people speak and capture those words for the page.

To believe is to never, ever give up.

B = Believe

Debra

Click here for more info on A-Z Blogging Challenge.

Author: Debra

Writer

10 thoughts on “Believe

  1. Debra,
    I believe this is a great post! Much-needed inspiration with my morning coffee. Thanks!
    MMF

  2. Thanks Meagan for visiting. Have a great day! Hopefully the weather is good where you are.

    Debra

  3. Wonderful advice & beautifully said! Believing in ourselves & our work helps us to sustain the practice. šŸ™‚

  4. Oh, I’ve only just started my blog, but what you say is so true. Can I stick it on my wall and use it as inspiration?

  5. Hi Jade & Gabrielle, Thanks for visiting today. Have a great weekend!

    Gabrielle – You’re so sweet. If what I wrote is an inspiration for you, please post it where you’ll see it every day. šŸ™‚

  6. Belief is a great B word. Goes along with my post about Bold writing and writing out of my comfort zone.

    Terri
    http://terri-forehand.blogspot.com

  7. I believe! Believing = faith. Without faith in yourself, believing you can do something, you’re doomed before starting.

    Popping in by way of the A-Z Challenge. Iā€™m blogging at:
    http://www.writewrongorindifferent.com/
    http://marieannesmissives.blogspot.com/
    http://gallongarden.blogspot.com/
    http://macrochet.blogspot.com/

  8. Debra, I publish at YCN (formerly AC), so let me know if you have questions. Email is on my blog profile.

  9. This makes me want to write the rest of the day! Nice start to your A-Z!

  10. Yes, I do like this piece. A wonderfully inspiring description of the belief that sustains us writers.

    Contrary to my usual practice of subscribing to comments, to save time during the challenge I will not be doing so at the moment. If you want to respond to my comment , please email me directly from your email notification for the comment.
    Thanks. And I truly appreciate your efforts.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out
    Twitter hashtag: #atozchallenge

Leave a Reply

