Deb's Morning Pages

My Writing Life. One Morning at a Time.

It’s A Palooza

2 Comments

According to the Urban Dictionary a Palooza is:

1. an all-out crazy party; partying at one place with a ton of people like there’s no tomorrow
That palooza last night was so wild.
2. A crazy fuckin party whose purpose is to re-release an indivivual back into the world of dating when their significant other dumps them, ending a long term relationship.
Mitch-A-Palooza (from “Old School” the movie)
“Man I was so smashed at Mitch-A-Palooza, I woke up next to some chick I don’t even know!”
3. The art of throwing a very drunken extravagent party with a plethora of friends. Whoever is throwing the palooza usually adds their name as a prefix to the word. Paloozas are usually held on Wednesday.
Did you go to Daveapalooza?
Yep, I don’t remember it though!

I’ve never been a part of a Palooza. Until now. I signed up for the EditPalooza over at SavvyAuthors.com. Which is a totally different Palooza from any of the definitions above. (Thank God) This Palooza is a month long workshop where 5/6 writers get assigned to an editor and spend the four weeks learning how to edit like an editor. I’ve heard great things about this event and I’ve also heard that it kicks ass. The writer’s ass of course.

We got our course outline and here is what we will be doing this month:

First Pass
Assignment 1: The Full Read
Assignment 2: Characterization
Assignment 3: Theme
Assignment 4: Plot & Structure
Assignment 5: Scene Structure
Assignment 6: Openings
Assignment 7: Middles
Assignment 8: Endings

Second Pass
Assignment 9: Point of View
Assignment 10: Voice & Style
Assignment 11: Dialogue
Assignment 12: Show vs. Tell
Assignment 13: Setting and Description
Assignment 14: Exposition
Assignment 15: The Polish

I have to admit that right now I am questioning my sanity. But it’s too late to back out now. I’m all in. Over the next few days I’ll share my first assignment and let you know who I got as my editor for this workshop.

Happy Writing,
D

Author: Debra

Writer

2 thoughts on “It’s A Palooza

  1. Good luck! I guess I’m having my own private editPalooza lately with Holly Lisle. 😉

  2. Thanks for stopping by. I’ve just handed in my first assignment so that will give me time to recap my first week over the weekend.

Leave a Reply

