Deb's Morning Pages

My Writing Life. One Morning at a Time.

EditPalooza – Week 1 Done

3 Comments

I survived the first week of EditPalooza. In my previous post I explained what EditPalooza was and now I will tell you more about what we are doing. There are five of us in our group and we have been assigned to Lea Schizas, who is the publisher of Muse It Up Publishing.

Last week our assignment was a Full Read. We had to open our manuscript and change the look of it. The goals was to make the manuscript look different. Then we were to grab a piece of paper and pen and read through the manuscript from beginning to end for what it is. We were not to think about what we intended to write, but what we actually wrote. We could make notes, quick notes that is. What we were looking for were any areas that we drifted off, where we skipped over paragraphs, where we didn’t like the behavior of a character (maybe she was too condescending or he was too weak), look at setting, pacing and make note of any of these things that cause us to lose interest.

Once we did that we had 7 questions to answer. We had six days to complete the assignment.

Now you understand why I haven’t posted since last week. There were a couple of nights where I didn’t even turn the computer on. The assignment was intense but it was a great exercise. I made notes of things to go back to and fix or add or take out. And when the class is over I’ll be doing it again.

I’m waiting for feedback from Lea on my assignment and in the meantime I completed and submitted the second assignment, Characterization. In a few days I’ll go into a little more detail about that exercise.

For now, I’m going to make a cup of tea and chill on the sofa for a bit with the pups.

Happy Writing,
D

Author: Debra

Writer

3 thoughts on “EditPalooza – Week 1 Done

  1. That sounds like so much fun! A lot of work, of course, but a blast. And how lucky you are to get feedback from someone with her credentials!

  2. Hi Jamie,

    The workshop is pretty amazing. I’m looking at my work differently and I’m seeing where it can be improved. I can’t wait to see how it’ll all shake out by the end of the month.

  3. Editing can be tough, but also kinda fun, isn’t it? I know what you mean about waiting to see how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

