Deb's Morning Pages

My Writing Life. One Morning at a Time.

Yoga and the Writer

1 Comment

null

I’ve been taking yoga classes. It’s something I’ve wanted to do but the thought of heading off to a class after work or worse, after I’m already home, never fit right with me. That’s the big reason I still workout at home. But one of the gals I work with is going for her yoga certification so she needs a certain number of student-teaching. This means for me and a few other co-workers the class is free. 🙂 That’s always a good thing.

Let me tell you, the first class (which is right after work, once a week) kicked my butt. Or, should I say arms. A half-hour (yes, I had my eye on the wall clock to keep track of the torture, sorry, I mean the bliss of yoga) of downward facing dog, plank and Chaturanga left my arms feeling like jelly. Thankfully, the remaining thirty minutes it was standing and balance poses.

The second class was less torture and I felt less like a pretzel. Now, I’ve done some yoga here with my dvds and I’ve always enjoyed it. But, so far in the class while I do enjoy the challenge of the poses, I’m not quite there in the “yoga mindset”.

Last night was supposed to be the third class, but Laura was sick so class was cancelled. It’ll be added to the schedule so we’ll have our complete six classes. But I wanted to do yoga. I popped in my Bethenny Frankel yoga workout and did it. As I moved from pose to pose I found I was stronger, more balanced and slipping into that “yoga mindset”. Though, I’m not totally there yet.

I think one of the reasons why I’ve hesitated to take a class is because of wondering if the other students would judge me. But I found for myself that when I’m in class I’m totally focused on me, my poses and Laura. I see no one else, so I’m guessing that the other students aren’t really paying that much attention to me either. I’m glad I tried something different.

What about you? What have you tried different lately?

Happy Writing,
D

Author: Debra

Writer

One thought on “Yoga and the Writer

  1. Let’s see…

    I’ve tried driving. 😀 Not that recently, in that I’ve been learning for over a year now, but I’ve been kicking practice up into high gear as I try to pass my G2 road test.

    I’ve signed up as a slushpile reader for a new Sci-fi magazine!

    And I’m trying to test out the waters of PC gaming, little bit by little bit. (Dragon Age origins is finally running happily on my desktop! Now I just need to navigate my way around the castle.)

Leave a Reply

