Deb's Morning Pages

My Writing Life. One Morning at a Time.

Strawberry-Rhubard Crumble

Leave a comment

There’s no doubt it’s spring when I look out my kitchen window and see weeds (everywhere) and when I find rhubard at my local grocery store. It’s time to pull out the garden gloves and start spending time outdoors and then it’s time to pull out my flour canister, grab some brown sugar and make sure there’s vanilla ice cream in the freezer. Strawberry-Rhubard Crumble is my way of saying to everyone that spring is here.

I didn’t plan to make the crumble this weekend. It was a spur of the moment decision when I spied the rhubard in the produce section. This meant that the recipe needed to be easy and come together fast.

Begin gathering ingredients.

Love the bright colors.

Trim and cut rhubard and strawberries then combine with sugar and all-purpose flour.

Transfer to baking dish.

Make the crumble topping and cover the fruit.

Place baking dish in a preheated oven and let bake. The kitchen smells so good. While the Strawberry-Rhubard Crumble bakes I spent some time reading my critique partner’s most recent scene. Between work, taking care of the house and my own writing I look forward to sitting down and spending a little time in E’s world. We’ve been working together for over a year now and I kinda feel like an aunt to her characters. I know them. Their stories are unfolding in front of me and sometimes I offer a bit of wise auntie advice to them. Sometimes I laugh because E’s heroine is funny. Sometimes I worry because it is a romantic suspense and they are in danger. But I know as a writer sometimes you just need to sit back and let the characters live and breathe. Before I knew it the oven timer went off and this is what I pulled out of the oven.

Not diving into the crumble with a spoon was so difficult for me but since it wasn’t anywhere near dinner time (this was to be our dessert) I had to resist temptation. So it seemed like the perfect time to head outside for a little yard work. The distraction worked. And I guess it was worth it because take a look at what I had to look forward to –

Warm Strawberry-Rhubard Crumble with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. The day couldn’t have gotten any better, right?

Well, maybe it could have gotten better if I had seconds. 🙂

But I didn’t. I was good. Besides, I wanted to have some left over for the next night.

While taking the photographs, Billy kept me company.

Yeah, he was hoping for some Strawberry-Rhubard crumble. It’s good the little guy is always hopeful. While he didn’t get any of the Crumble, if you’d like you can try this very easy and simple recipe. See below for the recipe. If you do not have whole wheat flour you can substitute all-purpose flour.

Have a great day,
D

Strawberry-Rhubard Crumble

Ingredients

Filling

  • 1 pound rhubard, trimmed and cut into 1/2-inch pieces
    1 pint strawberries, hulled and quartered
    1/2 cup granulated sugar
    2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

Crumble Topping

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
    1/4 cup all-purpose flour
    1/4 cup whole wheat flour
    1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
    2 tablespoons butter, softened
    1 tablespoon canola oil
    1 tablespoon water

Directions

  • 1 To make filling: Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Toss together rhubarb, strawberries, granulated sugar and 2 tablespoons flour in a large bowl. Transfer the mixture to a shallow 1 1/2-quart dish or a 9-inch pie plate, pressing down on the fruit to form an even layer.
    2. To make the crumble topping: Combine oats, the flours, brown sugar, butter and oil in a bowl; work the ingredients together with a fork until the mixture is crumbly. Stir in the water until the mixture is evenly moistened.
    3. Distribute the topping mixture evenly over the fruit. Bake until the fruit is bubbly and the topping is golden, 35 to 40 minutes.

Yields: 4-6 servings (depending how you dish it out)

Author: Debra

Writer

Leave a Reply

