Deb's Morning Pages

My Writing Life. One Morning at a Time.

Spinach Snack Balls for Pups

Leave a comment

Here’s the newest treat my pups are crushing on these days. They’re easy to make and nutritious with spinach, whole wheat and oats.

Spinach Balls

3/4 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup quick-cooking rolled oats
2 tbsp. grated cheese (any kind)
1 cup frozen spinach, thawed but not drained
1 tbsp extra-virgin Olive Oil

1. Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees. In a bowl combine all of the ingredients. Using your hands or a small ice cream scoop, shape the mixture into golf-ball sized treats (I made mine smaller because my dogs are small). Place on a lightly greased baking sheet (or line the baking sheet with a silicone baking sheet).
2. Bake the spinach balls 20-30 minutes (I found since mine were smaller that 30 minutes made them too dry). Let cool, then refrigerate for up to 1 week, or freeze up to 6 months.

Billy enjoying a treat.

Susie didn’t wait for me to come to her to get another piece of the Spinach Ball, the princess actually came to me.

I got this recipe from Rachael Ray’s Every Day magazine. I tried to get a link to the recipe on her website because I don’t like to publish other people’s recipes but I couldn’t find a link. Since this recipe was a winner for my pups and I wanted to share I made the decision to publish it. So, please buy an issue of Rachael Ray’s magazine the next time you’re in the grocery store. I also know that there is a pup named Josie who will be trying this treat very soon. I hope you enjoy, Josie! One more thing, be sure to check with your vet to be certain all of these ingredients are suitable for you pup.

D

Author: Debra

Writer

Leave a Reply

